LOUIS van Gaal and Jurgen Klopp are the punters’ predictions to be the next permanent managers at Manchester United. Both have seen 16% of all bets placed on the market although it is Lous van Gaal who has seen the lumpier wagers. Van Gaal has seen a whopping 47% of all the money placed on the market with bets of up to £600 being placed on the current Netherlands boss.

Jurgen Klopp is taking up the slack as the 8/1 second favourite, with 13% of all money staked on the market, while the current interim manager, Ryan Giggs is 11/1 (from 6/1) to take on the role on a permanent basis.

Elsewhere in the market, Diego Simeone is 16/1 although he refused to comment on any speculation ahead of Atletico Madrid’s Champions League semi-final match against Chelsea, while Jose Mourinho has halved in price since 8:00am, originally opening at 40/1 before settling at 20/1.

“Louis van Gaal is a clear favourite with our punters not frightened to place big wagers on him being named as the next permanent Manchester United manager,” said William Hill spokesman Joe Crilly.

“That being said, however, it appears unlikely that this decision will be made with as much speed as the one to replace Ferguson with Moyes. There are plenty of names waiting in the wings to take charge of one of the biggest sides in world football.”

The board are coming in for quite a fair bit of stick after David Moyes’ failure and Sir Alex Ferguson is 11/2 to have left the board of directors before 31/12/14 while Sir Bobby Charlton is 7/2 to have left in the same time frame. Edward Woodward is 2/1 to no longer be the executive vice-chairman of Manchester United by January 1st 2015.

Next Permanent Manchester United manager*:

Evens Louis van Gaal; 8/1 Jurgen Klopp; 11/1 Ryan Giggs; 16/1 Diego Simeone; 20/1 Jose Mourinho; 25/1 Antonio Conte; 25/1 Jurgen Klinsmann; 25/1 Laurent Blanc; 25/1 Mauricio Pochettino; 25/1 Pep Guardiola; 33/1 Alex Ferguson; 33/1 Carlo Ancelotti; 33/1 Carlos Quieroz; 33/1 Frank de Boer; 33/1 Gary Neville; 33/1 Guus Hiddink; 33/1 Roberto Martinez; 40/1 Fabio Capello; 40/1 Michael Laudrup; 50/1 Andre Villas Boas; 50/1 Didier Deschamps; 50/1 Joachim Low; 50/1 Jorge Jesus; 50/1 Jupp Heynckes; 50/1 Marco Bielsa; 50/1 Martin O’Neill; 50/1 Massimiliano Allegri; 66/1 Brendan Rodgers; 66/1 Cesare Prandelli; 66/1 Glenn Hoddle; 66/1 Luis Felipe Scolari; 66/1 Marcelo Lippi; 6/1 Mike Phelan; 66/1 Neil Lennon; 66/1 Ole Gunnar Solksjaer; 66/1 Rafa Benitez; 66/1 Roberto di Matteo; 66/1 Roberto Mancini; 66/1 Steve Bruce; 66/1 Steve McLaren; 80/1 Gordon Strachan; 80/1 Mark Hughes; 80/1 Roy Keane; 80/1 Sam Allardyce; 80/1 Tony Pulis; 100/1 Alan Curbishley; 100/1 Arsene Wenger; 100/1 Chris Hughton; 100/1 Darren Ferguson; 100/1 David Beckham; 100/1 Eric Cantona; 100/1 Owen Coyle; 100/1 Sean Dyche; 100/1 Steve Coppell…others on request

*must be offered a minimum one year contract