VOTING begins in the Wythenshawe and Sale East by-election on Thursday (February 13).

The by-election was brought about by the death of the serving MP, Paul Goggins.

Mr Goggins, who had represented the constituency for Labour, died on January 7, at the age of 60.

Mike Kane will fight the seat for Labour and the Rev Daniel Critchlow is the candidate for the Conservatives.

Mary Di Mauro is the candidate for the Liberal Democrats.

John Bickley will contest the seat for the UK Independence Party (UKIP) and Captain Chaplington-Smythe is the Official Monster Raving Loony Party candidate.

Eddy O’Sullivan is the candidate for the British National Party and Nigel Woodcock is the candidate for the Green Party.