Several Trafford eateries earned recognition at the Asian Restaurant Awards last week.

These awards, organised by the Asian Catering Federation and sponsored by Booker and JustEat, are described as the sole ones open to all Asian cuisines, from Chinese to Turkish.

At an event in the city centre last week, hosted by BBC newsreader Samantha Simmonds, Balchao in Hale Barns and Spice Mafia in Urmston were joint winners of Best Newcomer.

Both of the eateries welcomed their awards with announcements on social media.

Messenger Newspapers: Balchao and Spice Mafia shared 'Best Newcomer'.Balchao and Spice Mafia shared 'Best Newcomer'.

The team at Balchao, which serves up fusion cuisine from its home on Hale Road, said: "We are delighted to announce Balchao won Best Newcomer at the Asian Restaurant Awards.

"Congratulations to Team Balchao for their hard work, commitment, and dedication. Thank you to all our customers for helping us achieve this."

And the team at Spice Mafia, which serves up Indian cuisine to delighted diners on Flixton Road, said: We would like to thank the people of Urmston for all the love and encouragement you have shown towards a small, independent restaurant like ours from day one.

"This wouldn't have been possible without their support. We LOVE you Urmston."

READ MORE: Plan for Papa John's pizza takeaway in Timperley approved.

Other winners were Rasassi in Altrincham, which won 'Best Casual Dining Restaurant' with Kebabish Original in Blackburn.

And Sigiriya in Hale won 'Best Fine Dining Restaurant' for its food inspired by the flavours of Sri Lanka.

A post on social media by the restaurant on Ashley Road said: "We only went and won. We are now officially the Best Fine Dining Restaurant as awarded by the Asian Restaurant Awards.

"Thank you so much to the awards. And to each and every one of you who dines with us. We couldn’t be Sigiriya without you."

All winners at the Asian Restaurant Awards are to be included in the Asian Catering Federation's 'Top 100 Curry Restaurants', which is to be published online at and in print next year.

For information, go to