Altrincham manager Phil Parkinson has released both his senior right-backs in a retained list that suggests there could be a busy summer of transfer activity at The J.Davidson Stadium.

No fewer than nine players have been told they are not being kept on, with right-backs Harry Perritt and fit-again Ross Barrows among them and highly-regarded young forward Zak Goodson another surprise departure.

Perritt was originally at Alty on loan, after joining from Accrington in February 2022 for the remainder of last season, and it was seen as a significant signing when the 22-year old became a Robins player on a permanent basis after being released by the Lancashire club two months ago.

Likewise, Barrows’ arrival last August was viewed as a positive move after he was widely acknowledged as having been King’s Lynn Town’s outstanding defender during a three-year stay at The Walks. But after starting well for the Robins, the 25-year old suffered a broken ankle towards the end of November and has only just worked his way back to fitness.

Goodson, who turned 23 last month, became Alty’s 12th signing of last summer when the Robins paid an undisclosed fee to lure him away from Ilkeston Town.

Hailed as a natural finisher, he made a goalscoring debut in a Cheshire Senior Cup tie at Sandbach United and, in between loan spells with Boston United and Spennymoor Town, had a dramatic impact as substitute in the FA Trophy against Wrexham, equalising with virtually the last kick and converting a penalty in the subsequent shootout.

Ben Pringle, Brad Jackson, Egli Kaja, Joe Cooney, Harlan Rodgers-Morris and Eden Bailey are the others to be released, while Alty have confirmed loanees Aaron Bennett, Luke Burgess, Myles Welsh-Hayes and Kyle Ferguson have all returned to their parent clubs.

The bulk of the squad that came within seconds of a Wembley appearance in the Trophy and reached the final of the Cheshire Senior Cup will again be on duty next season, with skipper Jordan Hulme heading a retained list that also includes keepers Ollie Byrne and Matt Gould, defenders Eddy Jones, Liam Brockbank, Lewis Baines, James Jones and Jake Cooper, midfielders Josh Lundstram, Isaac Marriott, Elliot Osborne and Owen German and forwards Matty Kosylo and Regan Linney.

In addition, three academy graduates - keeper Ryan Forde, midfielder Amaar Hussain and forward Ryan Morton - will return to join the senior squad for the start of pre-season training.

“This is notoriously a difficult process and time for so many players, as clubs make decisions on contracts, and it is no different at Altrincham Football Club,” said football director Rob Esteva. “A number of players leave us this summer, whether that is loan deals or contracts expiring, and we’d like to place on record our sincere thanks to all of them for their contributions on and off the pitch.”