THREE people from Trafford are among those honoured by the Queen.

They join celebrities Michael Palin, Christopher Nolan, Twiggy and Gareth Southgate in the New Year’s Honours List.

Former Trafford Council leader Sean Anstee received the CBE, while British Muslim Heritage Centre chairman Nasar Mahmood and Marshalls PLC group marketing director and director of sustainability Chris Harrop have all received OBEs.

Cllr Anstee, Conservative Group leader on Trafford Council, has been recognised for services to local government.

Nasar Mahmood, from Altrincham, chairman of the British Muslim Heritage Centre, has been honoured for services to community relations in Manchester.

Chris Harrop, from Sale, is group marketing director and director of sustainability for Marshalls PLC. He has been recognised for services to the prevention of modern slavery and exploitation.

Cllr Anstee said: “It remains one of the greatest privileges in my life to have led Trafford and pursue initiatives that will positively shape our borough, and wider region, for many years to come.

“The unquestionable commitment of public servants is inspiring and I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with many incredible people, at all levels of local government.

“To my family, friends and colleagues ­— never in my wildest dreams did I think this could happen ­— and to all, thank you for your support.”

Also recognised in the honours are former United keeper Harry Gregg, who receives the OBE for services to football.

And five police officers have been recognised for their commitment and dedication following the suicide bomb attack last year.

Detective Chief Inspector Teresa Lam, Special Sergeant Jared Simpson, Robert Gallagher, Constable Michael Buckley and Chief Inspector Dale Sexton have been included in the New Year’s Honours List after their work following the blast at the Ariana Grande gig on May 22, 2017, in which 22 people died.

GMP Chief Constable Ian Hopkins said: “The honours for Teresa, Jared, Robert, Michael and Dale, recognise the commitment, dedication and professionalism they showed in such horrific circumstances.

“They represent all of their colleagues in receiving these honours as well as their own exceptional work.”