TRAFFORD voters are heading towards the polling stations to vote in the General Election today.

The polling stations are open for voting between 7am and 10pm.

Look out for Messenger's live blog at the count tonight to keep up to date with eveything that is happening in our constituencies.

There are three constituencies in Trafford: Altrincham and Sale West, Stretford and Urmston, and Wythenshawe and Sale East. In all three constituencies the former MPs will be seeking to defend their seats.

In Altrincham and Sale West there are five candidates: Graham Brady for the Conservative Party, Jane Brophy for the Liberal Democrats and Geraldine Coggins for the Green Party. Neil Taylor is standing for the Liberal Party and the Labour Party candidate is Andrew Western.

Graham Brady won the seat in 2015 with 53% of the total vote and an overall majority of more than 13,000 votes. The electoral turnout was just over 70 per cent.

There are six candidates being fielded in Stretford and Urmston. Andrew Beaumont is the UKIP candidate and Lisa Cooke is standing for the Conservatives. Rose Doman represents the Christian Peoples Alliance and Anna Fryer is challenging for the Liberal Democrats. Kate Green is standing for Labour and the Green candidate is Michael Ingleson.

Kate Green is defending Stretford and Urmston for Labour. She won the seat in 2015, supported by 53% of the voters. She had a majority of more than 11,500. Over 69,000 people voted, a turnout of just over 67 per cent.

There are also six candidates in Wythenshawe and Sale West. Luckson Francis Augustine is standing as an independent. Fiona Green is running for the Conservative Party and Dan Jerrome is the Green Party candidate. UKIP’s candidate is Mike Bayley-Sanderson. The Liberal Democrats are fielding William Jones and the Labour Party candidate is Mike Kane.

In the 2015 elections the Wythenshawe seat was won by Mike Kane. He won by more than 10,500 votes, taking just over 50% of all the votes cast. The turnout was 57 per cent.

The counting will begin after the voting has closed and Parliament will meet on Tuesday June 13.