Kevin Bryan delivers his verdict on some of this week's alternative CD releases.

Leo Sayer, "The Gold Collection" (Demon Music)- This easy on the ear 3 CD set was compiled by the great man himself, and does a fine job in chronicling the Sussex born singer-songwriter's lengthy run of chart successes during the seventies and eighties. Sayer has understandably slipped out of the limelight since decamping to Australia a decade or so ago but he was blessed with very distinctive talents as a writer and performer during those early years, and "The Gold Collection" supplies nostalgically inclined listeners with a heaven-sent opportunity to relive the delights of worldwide hits such as "The Show Must Go On," "One Man Band " and "Moonlighting."

Jim McCarty, "Walking in the Wild Land" (Angel Air)- Yardbirds drummer Jim McCarty has arguably never received the recognition that he deserved for his innovative contributions to rock classics such as "Shapes of Things," "Over Under Sideways Down'" and "Happenings Ten Years Time Ago," and the veteran musician is still striving manfully to keep the band's name alive despite being well into his seventies now. Jim's third solo album serves up an agreeable batch of songs in a gently psychedelic folk rock mould, with his old Renaissance sidekick John Hawken lending a hand on "Right on the Road" and "Connected," and Rush's Alex Lifeson chipping in on lead guitar on one of the stand-out tracks, " Soft in a Hard Place."

Ronnie Milsap, "It Was Almost Like A Song / Only One Love In My Life / Images / Mislap Magic" (Morello / Cherry Red)- The good people at Cherry Red have succeeded in squeezing four complete RCA albums from Grammy Award winning balladeer Ronnie Milsap into a single 2 CD set, providing a tuneful insight into the work of a performer who successfully blurred the boundaries between pop and country with a finely honed sound which was also influenced by the gospel music of the blind North Carolina singer's youth. Splendid stuff.

The Innocents, "Teardrop Kiss" (Public Records)- Tasmanian power pop practitioners The Innocents are captured at their brilliant best as they unveil a celebration of all that's finest in this infectious genre. The self-deprecating outfit who once labelled themselves,"The No Hit Wonders From Down Under" lean heavily on the creative input of founder member Charles Touber, who penned all but one of the thirteen tracks showcased here, including the snappy opener, "Every Moment Matters," the rampaging, Stones influenced "Waiting" and their affectionate homage to the delights of garage band rock, "Teardrop Kiss."