Sharks announce captain

First published in Sport

DEAN Schofield will captain Sale Sharks next season, with Mark Cueto and Charlie Hodgson acting as his vice captains, the club said yesterday.

Director of Rugby Kingsley Jones made the announcements at the end of the Sharks' Awards Dinner at Edgeley Park on Thursday evening, when fly half Charlie Hodgson gained the 'Player of the Year' Award for the second successive season.

Hodgson scored 229 points for the club last season, including six tries.

The full list of winners reads: Academy Player of the Season: James Gaskell

Most Consistent Player of the Season: Eifion Roberts

Community Player of the Season: Neil Briggs

Breakthrough Player of the Season: Marc Jones

Players' Player of the Season: Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe

Player of the Season: Charlie Hodgson The Try of the Season, voted upon at the evening, went to Richard Wigglesworth for his final effort against Harlequins at Edgeley Park.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree