Skrill North Promotion Final ALTRINCHAM secured their fourth spell in the top-flight of non-League football in the most dranatic of fashions at a rain-soaked J. Davidson Stadium on Saturday. After 120 minutes of action had left the teams deadlocked at 1-1, Alty boss Lee Sinnott brought on midfielder Greg Wilkinson for striker Damian Reeves. And, just seconds later, the young former Stalybridge player had scored from a Kyle Perry knock down to send the majority of the mammoth 4,362 crowd at Moss Lane into delirium.

For the Yorkshiremen it was the fourth successive play-off reverse but they took their last-gasp defeat sportingly with their assistant manager and former Alty midfielder Danny Boshell and manager Mark Bower staying behind to applaud the presentation to the Altrincham team.

After a tight first half, in which Damian Reeves had put Alty's best chance over the bar and, at the other end, Alex Johnson had spurned a good chance in similar fashion, it was Altrincham who took the lead six minutes after the interval. It was James LAawrie, who had scored the winning play-off semi-final goal, who slotted the ball home after good work from Nicky Clee and James Walshaw had created the opening.

But Guiseley equalised from a corner in the 70th minute when substitute and former Halifax Town man, Danny Forrest, converted from a corner.

The remaining twenty minutes and half an hour of extra time did not alter the score, though it was the Robins who had the better of the additional period. In the final minute of extra time, Alty replaced striker Damian Reeves with midfielder Greg Wilkinson. And his first touch was to score the winner after Kyle Pery had battled well to get on the end of a ball up the middle.

An inevitable pitch invasion followed the final whistle before the award of the Promotion Final trophy was made by the Chairman of the Football Conference and former Alty chairman, Bill King.

Manager Lee Sinnott will not have too long to savour the triumph before he sets to work on forming the squad for next season when Altrincham will come up against many former Football League sides and a division in which most clubs are full-time, unlike Altrincham.

Altrincham: Coburn, Densmore (capt), Griffin, Moult, Havern, Leather, Lawrie, Richman, Walshaw, Reeves, Clee. Subs: Marshall, Doughty, Wilkinson, Perry, Saunders.