Ashling leads Ashton-on Mersey men

First published in Sport

ASHTON-on-Mersey’s men played a singles Stableford led in by Paul Ashling with 40 points, two more than Pete Hamlett and Phil Sassen.

Chorlton’s men played their Winter Par final and Hubert Dunki-Jacobs was top of the shop on +5 from Andrew Keane +3 and Stuart Faulkner +2.

A bogey competition at Hale needed a cpo on +2 to see Ian Hunt into top spot ahead of Andrew Pendleton and Paul Bramwell.

Sale ladies played a three ball team Stableford and winning a cpo on 64 points were Yvonne Chadwick, Linda Jenkinson and Chris Harris from Cynthia Hammond, Jenny Dolphin and Pat Hill.

Sale’s men played their Winter Stableford final and Steve Rourke was a proud winner with 39 points, one more than Mike Bishop, Dave Jones, K Blair and D Moore.

In a BB Stableford at Davyhulme Park Mark Attwell and Matthew Gallagher led in with 39 points, one more than Keith Madden and Bran Honeyball and Robert Foulds and Doug Craig.

Davenport assistant pro Graham Cox tightened his grip on the Order of Merit with a great double win at Lymm.

He was the top individual pro with 40 points, ahead of Steve Parry (Hart Common) and Tim Maxwell (Knutsford), both 38.

Cox enjoyed a remarkable first nine holes in just 30 shots to set up his winning score.

Then he found an ideal partner in home player Paul Verrinder to post 46 points in the pro am section, well clear of Dukinfield’s Dave Green and Barry Lees 42 and Craig Daggitt and Ken Thomson (Bramall Park) 41.

In the am am section the Sale duo of Charles Herbert and Mark Marshall led in with 42 points, one more than Swinton Park’s Jimmy O’Reilly and Steve Bailey who won a cpo from John Aikenhead (Ashton-on-Mersey) and James Cone (Chorlton).

The Manchester Alliance Scratch Match Play competition has reached the last eight with the winners in round three going through to finals day at Ashton-on-Mersey on April 13.

Didsbury’s Peter Barber who has won the title a record eight times is in the mix and faces Bramhall’s Cheshire amateur star Gareth Bradley for a place on finals day.

The rest of the draw is: Grant Hamerton (Pike Fold) v Steve Parry (Hart Common); Tim Maxwell (Knutsford) v Paul Grannell (Vale Royal Abbey) and Scott Jackson (Disley) v Ciaran Doherty (Bury).

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree